[e2e] Call for Papers: IEEE INFOCOM 2008 High-Speed Networks Workshop (HSN 2008)

Sergey Gorinsky gorinsky at arl.wustl.edu
Thu Dec 20 12:18:25 PST 2007

     Call for Papers

     IEEE INFOCOM 2008 High-Speed Networks Workshop (HSN 2008)

     Phoenix, Arizona, USA
     Sunday, April 13, 2008, from 1 pm to 6 pm

Technical Sponsors

      * IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on High-Speed Networking (TCHSN)
      * IEEE ComSoc Optical Networking Technical Committee (ONTC)

Traditionally held in conjunction with IEEE INFOCOM, the workshop on
High-Speed Networks brings together researchers from a wide spectrum
of areas related to end-to-end communications at rates up to the Tbps
range. While physical transmission media enable such high-bitrate
communications, existing link, network, transport, and application
protocols and their software and hardware implementations in both
end systems and core nodes have not yet realized this potential.
The limitations of the current designs justify exploration of novel
clean-slate approaches to dependable high-bitrate networking desired
in e-Science, medicine, entertainment, data centers and other
application domains.

HSN 2008 provides a unique forum for discussions centered on the design,
validation and deployment of high-speed networks without imposing the
constraint of straightforward integration of the proposed ideas into
the existing network infrastructure. All topics pertinent to high-speed
networking are of interest. They include but are not limited to the

      * Network architectures including clean-slate approaches
      * Switching technologies including packet and circuit switching
      * Transport protocols including congestion control, scheduling
        and reliable delivery
      * Applications requiring high-speed end-to-end services
      * Cross-layer network protocols
      * Security at high bitrates and with large data volumes
      * Node design including network processors, configurable logic,
        input/output and storage
      * Innovative physical transmission media and associated systems
      * Metropolitan area networks, Carrier Ethernet and next-generation
        optical transport
      * High-speed access technologies

Submission Guidelines

The workshop solicits submissions between 3 and 6 pages long.
The following is a summary of the submission guidelines:

      * File format: PDF
      * Formatting instructions (except for the size):
      * Size of original submissions: between 3 and 6 pages
      * Maximum size of camera-ready versions: 6 pages
      * System for original submissions and reviews: EDAS
      * Publication venue for camera-ready versions: IEEE Xplore

Important dates are as follows:

      * Paper submission: February 7, 2008
      * Acceptance notification: March 15, 2008
      * Camera-ready version due: April 4, 2008

General Chairs

      * Nasir Ghani, University of New Mexico, USA
      * Byrav Ramamurthy, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA

Technical Program Committee Chairs

      * Sergey Gorinsky, Washington University in St. Louis, USA
      * Ashwin Gumaste, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Bombay, India

Technical Program Committee

      * Lachlan Andrew, California Institute of Technology, USA
      * Torsten Braun, University of Bern, Switzerland
      * Georg Carle, University of Tuebingen, Germany
      * Vincent Chan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
      * Lars Eggert, Nokia Research Center, Finland
      * Maurice Gagnaire, ENST, France
      * Sergey Gorinsky, Washington University in St. Louis, USA
      * Ashwin Gumaste, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Bombay, India
      * Mohan Gurusamy, National University of Singapore, Singapore
      * David Hunter, University of Essex, UK
      * Jason Jue, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
      * Admela Jukan, Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany
      * Ken-ichi Kitayama, Osaka University, Japan
      * Tom Lehman, University of Southern California, ISI-East, USA
      * Jayaram Mudigonda, HP Labs, USA
      * Bernhard Plattner, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
      * Chunming Qiao, State University of New York Buffalo, USA
      * Srinivasan Ramasubramanian, University of Arizona, USA
      * Nageswara Rao, Oak Ridge National Labs, USA
      * Joel Rodrigues, University of Beira Interior, Portugal
      * George Rouskas, North Carolina State University, USA
      * Takashi Shimizu, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories, Japan
      * David Starobinski, Boston University, USA
      * Suresh Subramaniam, George Washington University, USA
      * Joe Touch, University of Southern California, ISI, USA
      * Marcel Waldvogel, University of Konstanz, Germany
      * Jianping Wang, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
      * Tilman Wolf, University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA
      * Lisong Xu, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA

More information about the end2end-interest mailing list