[e2e] IEEE LCN 2008 Call for Papers

Damla Turgut turgut at eecs.ucf.edu
Sun Feb 10 13:51:04 PST 2008

Apologies if you receive multiple copies of this Call for Papers

                    LCN 2008
         The 33rd Annual IEEE Conference on
           Local Computer Networks (LCN)

       Sponsorship by the IEEE Computer Society and
      the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee
            on Computer Communications (TCCC)

                    Montreal, Canada
                  October 20-23, 2008

                    CALL FOR PAPERS

LCN invites you to Canada for the first time in its history! The IEEE LCN
conference is the premier conference on the leading edge of practical computer
networking. LCN is a highly interactive conference that enables an effective
interchange of results and ideas among researchers, users, and product
developers. During 33 years of this conference, major developments from
high-speed local networks to the global Internet to specialized sensor networks
have been reported at this conference. We encourage you to submit original
papers describing research results or practical solutions in leading edge
topics. Paper topics include, but are not limited to:

Ad hoc and sensor networks       Adaptive applications
Embedded networks                Authentication, authorization, accounting
High-speed access networks       Congestion and flow control
Home and SOHO networks           Cross-layer optimization
IPv6 networks                    Location-dependent services
Local area networks              Mobility management
Optical networks                 Multimedia and real-time communication
Overlay networks                 Network management
Peer-to-peer networks            Network reliability and security
Personal and wearable networks   Network traffic characterization
Storage area networks            Performance evaluation/engineering
Ubiquitous networking            Performance measurement and tuning
Wireless networks                Quality-of-Service provisioning

Authors are invited to submit full or short papers for presentation at the
conference. Full papers (no more than 8 camera-ready pages, 10 pt font in
IEEE Computer Society format) should present novel perspectives within the
general scope of the conference. Short papers are an opportunity to present
preliminary or interim results and are limited to 2 camera-ready pages in
length. Short papers will be presented in a poster format and are published
in the proceedings. All papers must include title, complete contact
information for all authors, abstract, and keywords on the cover page.

High quality paper submissions will be nominated for a special issue
publication of a journal/magazine.


Papers must be submitted electronically in PDF. All submission instructions will
be posted on the conference website. Please direct your questions to the program
co-chairs, Ehab Elmallah <ehab at cs.ualberta.ca> and Mohamed Younis <younis at

Paper registration deadline: April 7, 2008
Paper submission deadline:   April 14, 2008
Notification of acceptance:  June 30, 2008
Camera-ready paper due:      July 28, 2008
Author registration by:      July 28, 2008


A number of workshops will be co-located with the conference. Workshop papers
will be published in the LCN proceedings. Information on workshops, submission
deadlines and all other details will be posted on the conference web site.

General Chair:
- Matthias Frank, University of Bonn

Program Chair:
- Ehab Elmallah, University of Alberta

Program Co-Chair:
- Mohamed Younis, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Finance Chair:
- Frank Hübner, AT&T Labs

Local Arrangements Chair:
- Azzedine Boukerche, University of Ottawa

Workshops Chair:
- Tom Pfeifer, TSSG, Waterford IT

Publication Chair:
- Chun Tung Chou, University of New South Wales

Editorial Liason Chair:
- Farid Nait-Abdesselam, University of Science and Technologies of Lille

Publicity Chair:
- Damla Turgut, University of Central Florida

Corporate Relations Chair:
- Hossam Hassanein, Queens University, Canada

International Advisors:
- Ken Christensen, University of South Florida
- Sanjay Jha, University of New South Wales
- Declan O'Sullivan, Trinity College Dublin

- Gary Kessler, Champlain College

Standing Committee:
- Joe Bumblis, BAE Systems
- Ken Christensen, University of South Florida
- Hossam Hassanein, Queens University, Canada
- Gary Kessler, Champlain College
- Peter Martini, University of Bonn
- Burkhard Stiller, University of Zürich and ETH Zürich
- Tim Strayer, BBN

More information about the end2end-interest mailing list