[e2e] CFP: NetGames 2003

Sugih Jamin jamin at eecs.umich.edu
Tue Oct 1 13:25:43 PDT 2002

                  CALL FOR PAPERS
                   NetGames 2003

                  May 22-23, 2003
           at Electronic Arts Headquarters,
              Redwood City, California.


We invite papers about multi-player games, whether on 
network protocols to support gaming, architecture 
of infrastructural support for multi-player games,
or game designs to accommodate network vagaries.
We welcome submissions on multi-player games for 
the PCs, game consoles, or mobile devices.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to: 

    Multi-player game architectures and platforms
    Prevention and detection of cheating
    Games on mobile and resource-scarce devices
    AI and techniques for latency hiding
    Modeling, usage studies, and characterization
    Enabling protocols for networked games 
    Systems support for authentication and accounting


Extended abstracts of technical papers, work-in-progress 
reports, position statements, and full-length papers of 
5 to 12 pages (single-spaced, double column, 11pt font) 
should be submitted in PDF or postscript format 
(at http://confman.eecs.umich.edu/netgames2003/)
according to the timetable below.

Accepted papers will be published in the workshop 
proceedings and authors are expected to actively
participate at the workshop.  Electronic Arts will
host a social event on the 22nd and will demo some
of its popular games during the workshop.  There will
also be door prizes of various games.

The best paper will be awarded an XBox game machine 
courtesy of Microsoft Corp.


 Abstract submission:            March 7, 2003
 Full-paper submission:          March 14, 2003
 (Abstract of full-papers must be submitted 
 by the earlier deadline)
 Notification:                   April 21, 2003
 Final manuscript due:           May 5, 2003

Program Committee:

Sugih Jamin, University of Michigan (Chair)
Mostafa Ammar, Georgia Institute of Technology
Grenville Armitage, Swinburne University of Technology
John Buchanan, Electronic Arts
Jon Crowcroft, University of Cambridge
Christophe Diot, Sprintlabs
Wu-chang Feng, Oregon Health and Science University
Carsten Griwodz, University of Oslo
Jim Kurose, University of Massachusetts at Amherst 
John Laird, University of Michigan
Brian Neil Levine, University of Massachusetts at Amherst 
Martin Mauve, University of Mannheim 
Hiroyuki Morikawa, University of Tokyo
Dan Rubenstein, Columbia University
Srinivasan Seshan, Carnegie Mellon University
Wilson Yuen, City University of Hong Kong
Lars Wolf, TU Braunschweig

Sponsors: Electronic Arts Inc., Microsoft Corp.

More information about the end2end-interest mailing list