[e2e] CFP: First IEEE ICNP Workshop on Secure Network Protocols (NPSec)

Bob Braden braden at ISI.EDU
Fri Apr 8 12:28:08 PDT 2005

                           CALL FOR PAPERS

       First IEEE ICNP Workshop on Secure Network Protocols (NPSec)
                      Boston, Massachusetts, USA
                          November 6, 2005


                    (In conjunction with ICNP 2005:
       The 13th IEEE International Conference on Network Protocols)


The first IEEE ICNP workshop on Secure Network Protocols (NPSec) is a
one-day event held in conjunction with ICNP 2005. NPSec focuses on two
general areas.  The first focus is on the development and analysis of
secure or hardened protocols for the operation (establishment and
maintenance) of network infrastructure, including such targets as
secure multidomain, ad-hoc, sensor or overlay networks, or other
related target areas.  This can include new protocols, enhancements to
existing protocols, protocol analysis, and new attacks on existing
protocols.  The second focus is on employing such secure network
protocols to create or enhance network applications.  Examples include
collaborative firewalls, incentive strategies for multiparty networks,
and deployment strategies to enable secure applications.


* secure or hardened protocols for operation of networks including (but
  not limited to):
    - internetworking, e.g., BGP, DNS
    - MANETs
    - LANs and WLANs
    - cellular data networks
    - p2p and other overlay networks
    - federated trust systems
    - sensor networks
* vulnerability analysis of existing protocols and applications (both
  theoretical and case studies), including novel attacks
* key distribution
* collaborative intrusion detection and response, such as
  collaborative firewalling
* incentive systems for multiparty networks, such as for p2p and MANET
* protocol configuration and deployment strategies enabling secure
  applications, e.g., e-commerce

  Paper submission: June 3, 2005
  Notification of acceptance: July 15, 2005
  Camera ready version: August 5, 2005


General Chair:
    Sonia Fahmy, Purdue University

Technical Program Committee Chairs:
    George Kesidis, Pennsylvania State University
    Nicholas Weaver, International Computer Science Institute

Publicity Chair:
    James Minseok Kwon, Rochester Institute of Technology

Web Chair:
    Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Purdue University

    Ehab Al-Shaer, DePaul University
    David Brumley, Carnegie Mellon University
    Guohong Cao, Pennsylvania State University
    Joseph Evans, U.S. National Science Foundation
    Lixin Gao, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
    Carl A. Gunter, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    George Kesidis, Pennsylvania State University
    Edward Knightly, Rice University
    Iordanis Koutsopoulos, University of Thessaly
    Carl Landwehr, University of Maryland
    Marco Ajmone Marsan, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
    Douglas Maughan, Department of Homeland Security
    Patrick McDaniel, Pennsylvania State University
    Jelena Mirkovic, University of Delaware
    Peng Ning, North Carolina State University
    Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Purdue University
    Phil Porras, SRI
    Saswati Sarkar, University of Pennsylvania
    Lakshminarayanan Subramanian, University of California at Berkeley
    Nina Taft, Intel Research
    Nicholas Weaver, International Computer Science Institute
    Felix Wu, University of California at Davis
    Jun Xu, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Bulent Yener, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute


Submissions must be in electronic form, as Postscript or PDF
documents.  Papers can be up to 6 two-column pages, and can convey
work-in-progress that is not completely mature but shows promise.

For more information, please see:

----- End Included Message -----

More information about the end2end-interest mailing list