[e2e] CFP: Multimedia Computing and Networking (MMCN) 2009

Ketan Mayer-Patel kmp at cs.unc.edu
Fri Jun 6 09:10:24 PDT 2008


               Call for Papers and Announcement

                      SPIE/ACM MMCN 2009
           Multimedia Computing and Networking 2009


Part of the IS&T/SPIE International Symposium on Electronic Imaging
                     18-22 January 2009

          San Jose Marriott and San Jose Convention Center
                      San Jose, CA, USA


For 16 years, the multimedia computing and networking conference has  
together researchers, practitioners and developers to contribute new  
ideas in
all facets of multimedia systems, networking, applications, and other  
areas of computing.  Traditionally the conference features  
presentations of full
and short papers, a keynote talk, and a panel of experts.  Presenters  
encouraged to make multimedia presentations and demonstrate their  
solutions.  Authors of a few accepted papers with the highest quality  
invited to submit the extended version of their papers to a special  
issue of
ACM/Springer Multimedia Systems Journal.

Original papers on all emerging technologies and traditional
areas of multimedia, including but not limited to:

Multimedia Computing
. multimedia OS services
. power-aware systems
. video-on-demand services
. mixed and augmented reality systems

Measurement and Modeling
. performance measurement of multimedia systems
. statistical modeling of server traffic and server software
. multimedia system simulations and benchmark comparisons

Multimedia Networking
. home, mobile and broadband networks
. QoS control and scheduling
. push technologies and content distribution
. peer-to-peer media systems
. Internet data streaming, delivery and wide-area caching
. multimedia security and rights management

Case Studies and Applications
. multimedia search engines
. entertainment and networked games
. distributed augmented and virtual reality
. multimedia authoring

Authors are invited to submit both research and industrial papers on  
unpublished work that is not currently under submission at any other  
Papers whose contributions are supported by experimental evaluations are
strongly encouraged.  Both full and short papers are considered.  Full  
submissions should not exceed 12 single-spaced, single column pages  
figures, tables, and references, using a typeface no smaller than 10  
Short paper submissions should not exceed 8 pages.  All papers must be
electronically submitted to the conference website. Further information
about MMCN'09 can be found at http://mirage.cs.uoregon.edu/mmcn2009.

   * Paper Registration: 24 June 2008, 11:59pm PDT
   * Paper Submission: 01 July 2008, 11:59pm PDT
   * Notification of Acceptance: 20 August 2008
   * Camera Ready Version: 27 October 2008
   * 200-word Final Summary: 27 October 2008
   * Conference 18-22 January 2009
   Proceedings of this conference will be published and
   available at the meeting.

Conference Chairs:
Ketan Mayer-Patel, Univ. of North Carolina/Chapel Hill (USA)
Reza Rejaje, Univ. of Oregon (USA)

Program Committee:
Tarek Abdelzaher, Univ. of Illinois/Urbana-Champaign (USA)
Surendar Chandra, Univ. of Notre Dame (USA)
Songqing Chen, George Mason Univ. (USA)
Mark Claypool, Worcester Polytechnic Institute (USA)
Chitra Dorai, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Ctr. (USA)
Wu-chi Feng, Portland State Univ. (USA)
Pascal Frossard, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology/Lausanne  
Christos Gkantsidis, Microsoft Research (UK)
Carsten Griwodz, Univ. of Oslo (Norway)
Yang Guo, Thomson Lab (USA)
Ahsan Habib, Siemens TTB Center/Berkeley (USA)
P†l Halvorsen, Simula Research Laboratory (Norway)
Mohamed Hefeeda, Simon Fraser Univ. (Canada)
Seon Ho Kim, Univ. of Denver (USA)
Nikolaos Laoutaris, Telefonica Research, Barcelona (Spain)
Baochun Li, Univ. of Toronto (Canada)
Jin Li, Microsoft Research (USA)
Kang Li, Univ. of Georgia (USA)
Andreas Mauthe, Lancaster Univ. (UK)
Wei Tsang Ooi, National Univ. of Singapore (Singapore)
Nabil Sarhan, Wayne State Univ. (USA)
Karsten Schwan, Georgia Institute of Technology (USA)
Prashant Shenoy, Univ. of Massachusetts/Amherst (USA)
Shervin Shirmohammadi, Univ. of Ottawa (Canada)
Nalini Venkatasubramanian, Univ. of California/Irvine (USA)
Roger Zimmermann, National Univ. of Singapore (Singapore)

Web Chair:
Ghulam Memon, Univ. of Oregon (USA)

More information about the end2end-interest mailing list